Amy & Delancy: A life-changing partnership

This post was written by Amy Reay

Amy Reay 005I was matched with NEADS Hearing Dog Delancy, and my life was changed. I had been told about the bond between service dogs and their partners, but never imagined how amazing that would be. Delancy is more than my partner, he is an extension of me, and the reason I keep going forward each day. Delancy does the usual hearing dog tasks, such as alerting me to the oven timer, a door knock, dropped items, my name being called,a smoke detector, and more. I watch his body language, his ears and his eyes and know from those cues when an airplane or flock of geese flies overhead, or when a child starts crying, or a car pulls into my driveway, or if someone enters a room. Little things that hearing people might take for granted are now a part of my world again. Beyond those immediate things, Delancy provides a healthier life for me because I now walk every day, get out of bed when I don’t feel like it and am overflowing with happiness just by looking at his adorable face. He has changed me in so many ways and I will always be grateful to him and to NEADS.— Amy Reay

3 thoughts on “Amy & Delancy: A life-changing partnership

  1. Love these stories. I lost part of my hearing in an auto accident six years ago. Shortly after that I was blessed with caring (and training) my daughters Chihuahua. I found myself becoming very dependent on his abilities to alert me. After she took him to California, I realized I wanted a Chihuahua. Through a series of what I can only describe as divine intervention, two days later I rescued a four month old that was given to me with at least three hundred dollars of food, cage, toys, leashes, and more. All delivered to my door. He is now four and is a very well trained Hearing/Alert Service Dog. He has traveled on the airlines from Wisconsin to California. He has traveled there and back in the car. I now have trained or am training four dogs. I use to show and train obedience Alaskan Malamutes, Dobermans, and showed dogs for others. But I find this work fascinating. Rascal is my best. He also gets called ADT, Radar, Killer. He does care for me and I also find him an extension of me. I so appreciate NEADS posting.

  2. Amy & Delancy are truly inspirational!!! I was recently privileged to spend a couple days with them, and am in awe at the amazing relationship they share, and all that Delancy makes possible…loved experiencing, first hand, the differences….and similarities….between a more active Hearing Dog, and a laid back Service Dog. Both amazing in their “Assistance”, both amazing as partners and comforters…..

  3. always hear so much about seeing eye dogs but not really for the hearing. My husband has hearing aids for both ears and they really don’t help much Dr. told him eventually he would be deaf. We have started learning sign language to prepare ourselves for that day 😦 I as a perfect hearing person have no clue as to the things hearing impaired miss out on. I applaud service animals and so glad that there is help in the form of a beautiful sweet dogs

Leave a Reply

