Happy Valentine’s Day, from NEADS!

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.
​​–Gilda Radner

(514 of 58)

Danny Pion and assistance dog Deacon

Valentine’s Day has become a human celebration of hearts, candy, flowers and jewelry, but I think Gilda Radner hit the nail on the head when she identified dogs as the truly amazing creatures in our lives.  Those of us blessed with the companionship of a dog know the truth about unconditional love.  The dog can love us even when we do not deserve it; they remain faithful at all times. My dog is truly my role model and my inspiration. My dog will lie at my feet, listen to me even when I am repeating myself, and will be overjoyed to see me each and every time I come through the door.  The love a dog holds is truly unconditional. I do not deserve my dog’s steadfast loyalty, and yet it is given freely. Oh for human beings to learn the simple lesson of the Valentine’s Day gift that the dog gives to its owner daily — love in its simplest form. Happy Valentine’s Day! Guest blogger, Michele Fournier

valentine puppy mailbox

Leave a Reply

