Get to Know Our Staff — An Interview with Client Coordinator Administrative Assistant Susan Berry

Sue's family pet, Ginger

What is your title and how long have you been at NEADS?
Client Coordinator Administrative Assistant. I have been working here for 5 months.

How did you come to work here?
I saw a job opening in the Sunday Telegram back in March 2011.  I was laid off at the time and thought what a great place that must be to work.  I have been doing pet sitting since 2005 and one of my clients was a former employee of NEADS who has now moved to Maine.  I remember her telling me how she enjoyed going to work everyday and bringing her two dogs with her.  I am an animal lover and wanted to know what NEADS was all about and when I saw the opportunity to come work at NEADS, I didn’t hesitate to apply for the job.

What is your average day like?
The first thing I do is say hello to all the dogs here in the office (and their owners).  My day consists of checking emails, printing the new applications for service dogs that come in from potential clients, calling clients to set up interviews, assisting Director of Client Relations Kathy Foreman with administrative duties and other office tasks.  Every day brings a new adventure.

What have you learned about service dogs that you didn’t know before you started working here?
I never really knew before I started working here what a service dog actually does for a person.  What I have learned is that a service dog, with the proper training, can make a huge difference in a person’s day to day life.  The tasks that they can be trained to do is amazing to me. These dogs are very intelligent.  They seem like they love to work and
please their owners and enjoy all the hugs and affection that they get from doing so.

What is your favorite part of your job at NEADS?
The best part of my job is calling clients to set up an interview and hearing the excitement in their voice when I tell them why I am calling. Some clients are so thankful for the opportunity to come here and let us know how a service dog can make a difference in their lives. I once spoke to a man to set up his interview at NEADS. This man was so excited for the opportunity to get another service dog.  He had recently put his service dog to sleep and is well aware of the positive impact a dog can make in his life.  His dog never left his side.  He immediately took the first appointment I offered him.

You’ve only been here a short time, but do you have any stories about a particular dog at NEADS that has made an impact on you?
I enjoy learning about all the dogs that come through NEADS.  I do not have a particular story, but just getting to know the dogs here and their individual personalities is special to me.  Every dog has a story of their own.

Do you have any animals of your own? Who are they and what are they like?
I do have a dog.  She is a yellow Labrador Retriever named Ginger.  We got her when she was 8 weeks old and now she is 4 years old.  She is a wonderful, good natured family dog and has a special place in our family.  She always wants to be with my two boys, especially when they go swimming in the lake near our house.  She had a litter of 10 puppies in July 2010 and was a wonderful mother to them.  She is treated like a queen and enjoys it tremendously.

One thought on “Get to Know Our Staff — An Interview with Client Coordinator Administrative Assistant Susan Berry

  1. Sue you are always smiling! You have a very important role to play and you’re doing a great job! Thanks for all you do! sf

Leave a Reply

